Camille Bedrosian, M.D.

Chief Medical Officer and Executive Vice President

Dr. Camille L. Bedrosian, M.D. joined Ultragenyx in January 2018 as Executive Vice President and Chief Medical Officer. In this role, she provides strategic leadership to the clinical development and translational research programs, and oversees Medical Affairs, Global Clinical Development groups, Clinical Operations and Drug Safety/Pharmacovigilance. She is a member of the company’s executive leadership team.

Prior to joining Ultragenyx, Dr. Bedrosian was Senior Vice President and Chief Medical Officer at Alexion Pharmaceuticals, Inc., where she provided leadership for the development of drugs and drug candidates including those designed to address devastating rare diseases caused by defects in the complement system including Soliris® (eculizumab) for patients with paroxysmal nocturnal hemoglobinuria and atypical hemolytic uremic syndrome. Prior to her ten years at Alexion, Dr. Bedrosian spent more than five years as the Chief Medical Officer for ARIAD Pharmaceuticals, Inc., where she provided leadership for drug development, built the clinical organization and participated in the partnership with Merck for ARIAD's small molecule mTOR inhibitor. Before joining ARIAD, Dr. Bedrosian served from 1997 to 2002 in the Clinical Research and Development Department of Genetics Institute, Inc. (acquired by Wyeth, now part of Pfizer), where she assumed roles of increasing responsibility and became therapeutic area head for hemophilia. Earlier in her career Dr. Bedrosian was an Assistant Professor of Medicine at Duke University Medical Center and member of the Duke Comprehensive Cancer Center, where she also had completed her residency in internal medicine and then fellowship in hematology and medical oncology.

Dr. Bedrosian holds a A.B. degree in Honors Chemistry from Harvard University, an M.D. degree from Harvard Medical School and an M.S. degree in Biophysics from the Massachusetts Institute of Technology.  She currently serves as Member of the MIT Corporation Visiting Committee for the Department of Biology.